Saturday, May 14, 2011

Komodo Island and Komodo Dragon 7 Wonders

Komodo Island in area Komodo National Park includes three major islands: Komodo, Rinca and Padar, as well as numerous smaller islands creating a total surface area (marine and land) of 1817km (proposed extensions would bring the total surface area up to 2,321km2). As well as being home to the Komodo dragon, the Park provides refuge for many other  notable terrestrial species such as the orange-footed scrub fowl, an endemic rat, and the Timor deer. Moreover, the Park includes one of the richest marine environments including coral reefs, mangroves, seagrass beds, seamounts, and semi-enclosed bays. These habitats harbor more than 1,000 species of fish, some 260 species of reef-building coral, and 70 species of sponges. Dugong, sharks, manta rays, at least 14 species of whales, dolphins, and sea turtles also make Komodo National Park their home.

Komodo Island

Komodo island will be more popularized by Sail Indonesia 2011 on June with about 120 yachts from at least 20 countries and will start from the provincial city of Kupang through Alor, Lembata, Maumere, Ende, Rote Ndao, Sabu, Sumba Timur, Riung, Sumba Tengah and Labuan Bajo as the mouth of Komodo island. Komodo is one of the 17,508 islands that make up the Republic of Indonesia. The island has a surface area of 390 km² and over 2000 inhabitants. The inhabitants of the island are descendants of former convicts who were exiled to the island and who have mixed themselves with the Bugis from Sulawesi. The population are primarily adherents of Islam but there are also Christian and Hindu minorities.
Komodo Dragon
Komodo or Komodo Dragon is part of the Lesser Sunda chain of islands and forms part of the Komodo National Park. Particularly notable here is the native Komodo dragon. In addition, the island is a popular destination for diving. Administratively, it is part of the East Nusa Tenggara province.

Komodo Island or Komodo National Park Tour In sumbawa Lombok Is Good your Swimming and Diving Include area:

Tanjung Rusa-A variety of small invertebrates and fish, including sharks and giant trevally, are visible while snorkeling the rocky slopes. Deeper diving to 40m reveals many coral trout, large groupers, schools of giant trevally, and massive dogtooth tuna.

Toro Oi-Excellent hard coral garden. Frogfish can be found on sponges on the reef slope. Nudibranchs and other unusual creatures are often found in this area.

GPS Point-Abundant fish life still exists in current-prone areas including large, missile-like Spanish mackerel. On the northwestern corner of this seamount grey reef sharks swim at 30m depth. Dogtooth tunas can sometimes be seen along the deeper slopes.

Lohwenci-A good variety of hard and soft corals, plenty of fish life and other marine creatures can be found at this site.

Tukoh serikaya--The corals are in very good condition and fish life is also very good. Lots of a whitetip reef sharks patrol the area, which is surrounded in clouds of anthias.

Tukoh-lehokgebah--This site has good coral coverage and plenty of small fish and sharks.

Komodo Dragon

The Komodo dragon, as befits any creature evoking a mythological beast, has many names. It is also the Komodo monitor, being a member of the monitor lizard family, Varanidae, which today has but one genus, Varanus. Residents of the island of Komodo may call it the ora. Among some on Komodo and the islands of Rinca and Flores, it is buaja darat (land crocodile), a name that is descriptive but inaccurate; monitors are not crocodilians. Others call it biawak raksasa (giant monitor), which is quite correct; it ranks as the largest of the monitor lizards, a necessary logical consequence of its standing as the biggest lizard of any kind now living on the earth.

(A monitor of New Guinea, Varanus salvadorii, also known as the Papua monitor, may be longer than the lengthiest Komodo dragons. The former's lithe body and lengthy tail, however, leave it short of the thickset, powerful dragon in any reasonable assessment of size.) Within the scientific community, the dragon is Varanus komodoensis. And most everyone also calls it simply the Komodo.


Post a Comment